Cognitive Stages

In recent posts, I have been discussing our human need for consciousness. The cognitive stage we have developmentally grown to, interacts with our level of consciousness we are at. In 1936, Jean Piaget referred to four cognitive stages of thinking (based on age).  Piaget’s four cognitive developmental stages are: 1.)  sensorimotor (b-2) —–>  is motor-reflexive;  object permanence, 2.)  preoperational (2-6) —–> has language where symbols represent objects;  egocentrism, 3.)  concrete operational (7-11) —–> is concrete thinking of stimulus and response (more to come),  and 4.)  formal operational (12 – up) —–> is critical thinking of synthesis and analysis (more to come).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s